False Creek Rowing Club logo False Creek Rowing Club

The People of the False Creek Rowing Club

Lauren Isbister, Head Coach: Lessons & Member Programs

Lauren has been our coach since 2015. Coming to us from the Simon Fraser University Rowing Club, she has been instrumental in creating an environment that respects our goals of being safe, respectful and welcoming. Experienced in teaching rowing to members of the public and having been part of a competitive team we appreciate Lauren's time in supporting our people as they become better at what they do. She has been through the Learn To Row instruction process provided by Rowing BC. Professionally, Lauren is involved in risk management.

Lauren also coaches at the Inlet Rowing Club in Port Moody, an organization that like us is a volunteer member run society. And in theory, we could row around Stanley Park and under a couple of bridges to get there.

Maksym Kepskyy
Maksym Kepskyy, Technical Director: Sport Performance

Maksym's role at the False Creek Rowing Club is to oversee our coaches in terms of the best practices of technical skill acquisition in a manner consistent with our organizational values, Additionally, where motivation and talent are present in athletes, create opportunities for those members and participants to excel in the sport of rowing.

Maksym has recently earned a Masters degree in Sports Biomechanics from the National University of Physical Education and Sports of Ukraine. Prior to that, Maksym earned a Master of Kinesiology in Sport Physiology and Coaching Science at the University of British Columbia and a Specialist Degree in Olympic and Professional Sports, at the same university in the Ukraine as he earned his Masters. Maksym is a BCRPA Certified Personal Trainer and lists his specialities as including: posture and corrective exercises, improving postural muscles and body alignment for the sport of rowing, stability of the muscles around the joints, improving core strength and conditioning training. We are proud to have him be associated with our club and to take the time to mentor our coaches while working to further the understanding of youth and masters athlete development in the sport of rowing. The success that athletes in his care, and he himself, has had bodes well for the future of all those who row on False Creek.

Jessica Lowe

Jessica Lowe, Coach & Programming

Jessica's coaching career started at Lakeside School in Seattle after rowing at Boston University and with the Pocock Women's Masters rowing team in Seattle. Jessica is currently a Masters Coach at Vancouver Rowing Club and False Creek Rowing Club where she focuses on her passion for good technical rowing. She is past Head Coach of Simon Fraser University Rowing located at Burnaby Lake. While in that role, she was selected for the the Rowing BC coach mentorship program. Jessica is in the final stages of receiving her RCA Coach Certification. 

Jessica is one of our life members and we are pleased that she is able to assist us in maintaining a high level of competence in our rowing programming. In addition to coaching, Jessica is past Chair of Cascadia Masters Regatta for 2012 & 2013, past Co-Chair of the 2014 RCA Canadian Masters Rowing Championships and current Chair of the 2016 National Rowing Championships to be held at Burnaby Lake September 22 - 25.

Mark Hetherington
Mark Hetherington, Boatman: Equipment Care and Repair

The False Creek Rowing Club is pleased to welcome Mark Hetherington as our boatman. The role of boatman includes not just the maintenance of the equipment, but also on creating a culture of care for the infrastructure around us. With new rowing boats (or "shells") costing more than many cars, being a rower means not just being an athlete (or a coach, volunteer or parent), but also being responsible for, and respectful of, your actions and the people and things entrusted to you.

Mark's previous experience as boatman for the Regina Rowing Club, as well as a volunteer administrator there sets him up for success. A Rowing Canada Aviron licensed umpire, Mark was responsible for building the medal presentation podiums for the 2010 Winter Olympic and Paralympic Games and has been involved in mentoring young people in woodworking and construction.

Other clubs and individuals are welcome to contact Mark at for their own repair and woodworking needs.

Simon Litherland, President

Simon has been working to establish a new rowing program on False Creek since 2004 when he was President of Rowing BC. Invited by the Vancouver Board of Parks and Recreation to create opportunities for this sport to return to False Creek with respect to community accessible programs, he has been working with the Dragon Boat community and the City of Vancouver (notably on the False Creek North Joint Working Group studying the shoreline developments at the east end of False Creek ) to establish a boathouse.

Currently an Rowing Canada Aviron licensed Umpire, and recipient of the Sport BC President's Award in 2015, previously he has been awarded Volunteer of the Year by the Parks Board in 2011 for his work with the Vancouver Sport Network, and has also been recognized by his employer, RBC Royal Bank, as a dedicated community volunteer both through their employee volunteer grant program, and their Community Spirit Award in 2011. Previously Simon was Rowing Captain at the Vancouver Rowing Club and President of Hostelling International - Canada - BC Region. He is a NCCP Level 2 rowing coach.

Simon has been the Chair of the Local Organizing Committee for the annual Head Up The Creek rowing regatta since its inception in 2011.


Our Current Board of Directors

  • Simon Litherland - President
  • Jessica Lowe - Secretary
  • Kuhan Milroy - Treasurer
  • Don Marshall DDS - Director At Large
  • Heather Holden PhD, CIM, FCSI - Director At Large
  • Lois Boxhill PhD - Director at Large

Historical Information

  • Presidents
    • Simon Litherland       May 12, 2011 - present
    • Dr. Don Arnold, PhD  November 7, 2010 to May 12, 2011
    • Simon Litherland       October 3, 2008 to November 7, 2010
  • Directors - the following people have served as directors of the False Creek Rowing Club either presently or in the past.
    • Dr. Don Arnold, PhD
    • Jennifer Bigler
    • Dr. Lois Boxill, PhD
    • Rory Carr
    • Barbara Creighton, CA
    • Ben Curry
    • Roberto Dosil
    • Robert Falconer
    • Dr. Heather Holden PhD, CIM, FCSI
    • Simon Litherland
    • Jessica Lowe
    • Dr Don Marshall DD
    • Kuhan Milroy
    • Mike Petrychanko
    • Rolf Skala
    • Dr. George Szasz CM, MD